Beat the Retreat

thompson_pour_down1.jpg

The lyrics of one of Richard Thompson’s greatest songs have a mystic or sufi ring:

Beat the Retreat

I’m beating my retreat
Back home to you
I’m beating my retreat
Back home to you
I’m burning all my bridges
I’m burning all my bridges
I’m burning all my bridges
I’m running back home to you

I’m trailing my colours
Back home to you
I’m trailing my colours
Back home to you
This world is filled with sadness
This world is filled with sadness
This world is filled with sadness
I’m running back home to you

I’ll follow the drum
Back home to you
I’ll follow the drum
Back home to you
There was no joy in my leaving
There was no joy in my leaving
There was no joy in my leaving
I’m running back home to you

Written by Richard Thompson. From Pour Down Like Silver, first issued on vinyl in 1975, still available on CD. (Amazon has audio samples.)

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in God, Lyrics, Music, Mysticism, Poetry, Sufism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beat the Retreat

  1. Pingback: Dimming Of The Day « niebla | fog

Leave a Reply

