An interpretation

Harleen Mathur had a reputation as an outstanding albeit controversial onirologist. Among the chatterati of our city it was considered chic to see her. It had not been easy to get an appointment at short notice.

She asked me to reduce my dream to exactly three words and to write them down. I handed her the piece of paper and she looked at it briefly.

“You’re sure about these?”
“There might be more words, like the number eighty-two in Roman numerals or Wednesday, but you said no more than three. These are the most important ones.”

She proceeded to explain to me:
“Contrary to commonly held belief, the ‘stage’ in your dream does not stand for life or performance. It stands for a chakora bird’s nest.”
“That’s quite specific.”
“What you experience as ‘visible’ in your dream, again much against common interpretation, has nothing to do with seeing or being seen. It stands for the third eye and intuitive knowledge.”
I nodded.
“Now I’ll come to the last word you on your list, ‘touching’. You’ve probably realized yourself that two of the terms in your dream are not objects. This is highly unusual. They stand for concepts, which heightens the importance of your dream.”
“What is the concept of touching, then?”
“Again, this means something entirely different from what one might be tempted to think. It has nothing to do with anything physical. It’s about being in touch with your higher self.”
“I feel completely out of touch with my higher self.”
She gave me a long thoughtful look.
“How long have you had this dream?”
“Oh, for one day.”
“And never before?”
“No, before that it was three other words, but those were basically with me for a whole week.”
“Which ones were they?”
“Let me think. – You know what? I think I can still remember: they were ‘funny’, ‘remember’ and ‘theater’.”
“You tend to have rather conceptual dreams. And I believe –”
“Yes?”
“That you’re leading me on.”
“I don’t know what to say.”
“Don’t deny it. The bird’s nest betrayed you.”

So much for the scathingly critical article my editor had asked me to write about a modern-day charlatan.

– Niebla ( © 2008 )

Written upon inspiration by today’s three words from 3WW #LXXXII.

Acknowledgments
I thank Kanika Gahlaut and her novel Among the Chatterati / The diary of a page-three hack for a little bit of the journalist character I’ve invented here and for the word ‘chatterati’. My first encounter with the chakora bird I owe to poet Usha Kishore.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Blabla, Imagination, Life, Literature, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An interpretation

  1. whypaisley says:

    whoa.. that was a totally fresh concept as far as i am concerned… bravo!!!

  2. TC says:

    I’m glad you opened these up because I wanted to tell you just how much I really, really, really enjoyed this. I thought it was wonderful.

    So many times I wonder “Is this life? Or am I dreaming this?” Meaning, is life but one big dream, and if so… when I wake up to interpret the dream, what will I find?

    Loved it.

  3. Sara says:

    I liked the humor in this piece. Thank you for sharing your talents with Writers Who Blog.

  4. niebla says:

    Thank you all for reading “An Interpretation” and commenting. I’m happy you liked it.

    Sara: Thanks for adding me to Writers Who Blog!

Leave a Reply

