Guided towards the eye by breasts and roses

I walk across a spill of objects on bare chafed feet.
I step on drum jugs and notice they’re breasts,
but hard, their nipples like the flat ends of hazelnuts.
A forest of wind-blown trees fades into greyness.
Amidst the blowing wind an angel seductress sits,
barely clad, enticing legs professing modesty, doll face
like Bessie Smith but white, head wreathed, pointy
transparent wings apart. The rose? How could I have
missed it in the corner! It’s pink and orangish and blurred,
emits the vapor of an unlit scented candle, more
cinnamon and clove than rose. I’ve come lured by
two green feathers, have to touch them, comb them,
but they can’t be reached. I realize the mild blue
eye is waiting. It has let down its Mayan stone stairs.
I know that I will climb them and, in doing so,
will rise for centuries, will shake off gravity of Bab-i-Lon,
will look into abysses and mist-filled valleys, layers
of blue hues, airs, fragrances en route to the infinite blue.

– Niebla ( © 2008 )

Written for Jane’s Inspirations. Art by tamdavash416.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Eden, Imagination, Literature, Mystery, Mysticism, Paradise, Poetry, Surrealism, Words, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guided towards the eye by breasts and roses

  1. Jane Doe says:

    I love what you did with the prompt image. This is a beautiful poem, I love the way you describe the picture. I really liked these lines:

    ‘Amidst the blowing wind an angel seductress sits,
    barely clad, enticing legs professing modesty, doll face
    like Bessie Smith but white, head wreathed, pointy
    transparent wings apart.’

    Such a vivid description. Great write. Thanks for participating in Jane’s Inspirations!

  2. niebla says:

    Thanks for your visit, Jane. I’m glad you liked my treatment of your promt.

Leave a Reply

