Poses at Hopi Point

“Stop!”
I turned around.
There was a girl in her late teens, a redhead with freckles, somewhat chubby, in blue shorts and a bright red t-shirt, who was looking at me.
“Were you talking to me?”
“I was. There’s nobody else around, is there?”
It was true – it was early evening, the sun was about to set, and the two of us were the only visitors left.
“Would you mind taking a picture of me?”
“Be happy to.”
She handed me her camera, a tiny, shiny digital thing, gave me quick instructions on how to use it, got close to the rocky abyss and posed, chin raised, hand on hip.
I took several pictures of her.
“That looks so cool,” she said.
“Pardon?”
“Those blue mirror sunglasses you have on, the way the sun is reflected in them. – Could I maybe borrow them for another picture?”
“Ok. But let me also take one of you then.”
That’s why I have a picture of a freckled redhead wearing my sunglasses at Hopi Point above the Grand Canyon.
Her name was Helen, she was from San Bernardino and waiting tables in Las Vegas. She told me before we parted ways, and I remembered for some reason.

– Niebla ( © 2008 )

Contains the 3WW #83 words stop, reflected and picture.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Blabla, Imagination, Life, Literature, Nature, Words, World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poses at Hopi Point

  1. pia says:

    It’s always good to remember why one has a photo of a stranger. Nice

  2. TC says:

    I the Grand Canyon. That’s a gorgeous photo. And I think that there is always something about those random people we take pictures for on vacation that stick with us.

  3. Medhini says:

    A cute story. Some strangers leave a lasting impression.

  4. These odd, surprise moments are so precious. They always seem to linger with a reason maybe explained later.

    Gemma

  5. annie says:

    I’ve just returned from the Grand Canyon and this mood strikes me as so familiar. We were all there experiencing a similar awe of what we were seeing but it felt as though we were all together but somehow separated from those around us.

Leave a Reply

