My kind of girl

A not so nice story

Talulah and Malcolm

“You’re my kind of girl,” Malcolm said, “you got the job. Starting tomorrow, OK? I’ll axe the other one tonight. We’ll have loads of fun working together, I can promise you that.”
“You won’t regret hiring me, Malcolm. And I like you,” said Talulah with her brightest smile, musing, ‘Now there’s someone who thinks he’s hot shit while knifing some poor dumb broad in the back. But I need the job, and it’s not my business what happens to her. If it weren’t me it would be somebody else. And I think I can keep this brute in check.’
A gem of a girl

Meanwhile Deb, the dumb broad, was happily entering the monthly figures in the computer in the back of the coffee shop. She knew she was doing an excellent job, and she loved her work.
If only things with Malcolm were better. She had reluctantly given in to her boss’ rough advances four months ago – he had made it quite clear that retaining the position was contingent on that – and could deal with him much better now, finding that she even liked him – sometimes.
But what would he say to the fact that she was pregnant? She knew for sure now and was planning to tell him after work.

– Niebla

Note
Not a nice story I invented around the two photos from Café Writing. But then again it could just be real – not all good people are rewarded for their goodness, and some bad eggs seem to do quite well. At least for a while.

Photo Credits: “Morning Smiles” is by Yvonne Chamberlain, and “Computing in a Coffee Shop” is by Quavondo Nguyen. Both are provided by iStockphoto.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Imagination, Life, Literature, World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My kind of girl

  1. MissMeliss says:

    It’s a good interpretation of the images – as valid as any other – and probably more “real” than many of us would like to think.

  2. niebla says:

    Thank you, MissMeliss!

  3. a~lotus says:

    I agree with MissMeliss. This is very real and I’m sure it could happen anywhere. In the corporate world, things can go down and dirty and cruel.

    Great interpretation.

  4. Pingback: Cafe Writing » May/June Participants Page

Leave a Reply

