Leonine

I have a terrible face, even a cruel one. I’m scarred and disfigured. I seem to have had a few harelip and other operations too many. And the crown of my adornments might be misleading, my forceful symbols misread, my red eye, my green eye might be seen as wrathful. But I’m not – I’m neither cruel nor terrible nor wrathful. I’m balanced. I carry everything in me – the old that’s crumbling and turning into debris, the new that’s emerging, maturing. See those faces, those figures? I carry everyone in me. I am the world.

– Niebla ( © 2008 )

Written looking at another gorgeous painting by Rick Mobbs.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Art, God, Hermeticism, Imagination, Life, Literature, Mystery, Poetry, World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leonine

  1. lirone says:

    Aren’t Rick’s paintings amazing… it no longer surprises me that so many people find so many different things in them.

    I can’t pick any particular bit of your text that stands out – it all fits together so well and the whole is what I like!

  2. Brad says:

    I concur with Lirone. A nice honest interpretation.

  3. pieceofpie says:

    i carry everyone w/me i am the world…. beautiful

  4. annieelf says:

    I just love this. Pushed lots of emotional buttons.

Leave a Reply

