You are so far away now

You are so far away now
I no longer see you with my mind’s eyes

My mind is turned away,
it won’t allow you to enter

All that’s left
is a numb sense of loss

– Niebla ( © 2010 )

Hindi translation of this poem by Richa Dubey

Not a good way to enter the new year, one might say. But there it is – an honest reflection of my current state of being.

On New Year’s Eve I was looking up at the spectacular full moon with its circular rainbow spectrum halo and caught myself thinking that I had not made a wish, did not even have an inkling of what to wish for.

The one person I would have liked to be with was not there, yet I was surrounded by friendly, merry people. I was not alone, and should have been grateful for that. But mostly I felt entirely alone among the merry crowd.

Wings are obviously needed here instead of the downtrodden spirit of this poem, which is why it’s an oblique entry for One Single Impression and Wings.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Despair, God, Life, Literature, Love, Mysticism, Poetry, Words, World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You are so far away now

  1. SandyCarlson says:

    The honesty of the reflection is pure. And it is a good place to start.

  2. I think we’ve all had that feeling of being alone in a crowded room of people. I hope your spirit will feel uplifted very soon…thanks for sharing your beautiful words.

  3. Loch Rob says:

    Sometimes when loved ones are far away, it is time to dream of whats transpired and the reunion to come.

  4. Pearl says:

    honesty is good. may you find strong wings in 2010.

  5. if says:

    I like this…!

  6. Tumblewords says:

    Wings are a good thing. Feeling alone is surely a universal emotion but fortunately it doesn’t hang around as long as one has wings. Wishing you the best 2010!

  7. Amity says:

    I second to the opinion of Sweetest in the Gale…you’re not alone in such a dilemma…coz’ I, too have been into that. Whatever the merriment of people around us, they seem not to exists because we are wanting for someone not around who can really make us happiest…I can feel your heartaches, and our wish? to have wings so we can fly high and try to see if we can still have a grasps of that impt person in our life, but as you say, even the mind can not see it anymore…

    Cheer up! It’s not the end of everything, okay?

  8. Nancy Bea says:

    Haunting! I hear you,

  9. shraddha says:

    very nicely written and relatable..

Leave a Reply

