Hell hath no fury

The one place in town where I can go when she’s been at it again. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned, some poet wrote. I don’t scorn mine, but I get hellish fury anyway. I do the opposite – I love her, I adore her, appreciate every day I wake up next to her. I do anything to please her. Can’t say that she didn’t warn me; she told me she had a mean, nasty streak and very difficult character. I’ve already forgotten what happened today to make her mad, but she told me again that she’s never loved me, that I was never her type, that she’s regretted getting married to me every single day since the wedding, that we have nothing in common and that she had a more intimate relationship with my friend Bud. Gets on the phone with him and tells him it’s about time he paid a visit, that she’ll bake him that apple pie he loves so much. Chipper and chirpy as a lark with him, while all the time giving me mean beady looks. That one was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I ain’t no camel, but my back and another part of me feel like they’re broken. So here I am once again in church, praying to the Lord to let me understand and let it blow over soon.

– Niebla ( © 2010 )

Written to participate in 1000 words #50.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Despair, God, Life, Literature, Love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

