Dream #034

And now I stare across the dirty river
And I breathe the dirty air
And I’m sure upon the bridge I’ll see you
‘Cos I dreamt I’d kiss you there
– Tanita Tikaram

It’s one of those sepia dreams,
one of those dusty old blurred ones

I stare across the dirty river

I see spiky things, moorings, fog,
industrial light reflected on water

I breathe the dirty air

Rust, brackish water, stench
of unspeakables
The picture becomes clearer
I see the bridge emerge
I know it has some meaning

I’m sure upon the bridge I’ll see you

But you are missing
You are the missing link

‘Cos I dreamt I’d kiss you there

I know I kissed you there
But you vanished so long ago
Vanished into a mist so thick
I cannot pierce it
And there I am alone,
I see myself
A swarthy man wrapped in swarthy thick clothes
I’m as elusive to myself
As you are, as that kiss long past
Across that dirty river, in that dirty air
Up on that unrevealing bridge

– Niebla (© 2012)

Inspired by the painting Under Windsor Bridge, 1912, by Adolphe Valette (see above), posted on Mag 131. Where did the #034 come from? From #034 at insanebloom, which was a response to the same prompt.

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Imagination, Life, Literature, Love, Mystery, Poetry, Surrealism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dream #034

  1. Mohana says:

    Nicely done!
    Thanks for the pingback 🙂

Leave a Reply

