Prisoner no. 9

“Every day is an opportunity!”
“Padre, why are you telling me this?”
“Every day is an opportunity for everyone.”
“So what do you want me to do? Flutter out of here? Spread my wings?”
“Even the caged bird sings.”

– Niebla (© 2011)

The word over at Sunday Scribblings is ‘opportunity’ – and this might be called a brief and extreme treatment of it, weighing in with the idea that opportunity is sometimes severely curtailed by circumstances. Theoretically and philosophically speaking, it’s still a question of what you make of what you have, how ever little you may have.

This alludes to a Mexican song, El preso no. 9, about a prisoner soon to be executed who is singing the song to the priest as his good-bye to the world. For good measure, I threw in a grain of I know why the caged bird sings (title of Maya Angelou’s autobiography).

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Death, Life, Literature, Lyrics, Music, Words. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prisoner no. 9

  1. I like the attitude.

  2. Hello,
    Your prompt “wheat” comes up at One Single Impression on August 28. Would you send me a poem and/or image by Saturday?

Leave a comment