Who else I might have been

Without any pain, I separated into two. I was in both of them; from one I looked my other I in the eye. We both looked at each other calmly from our blue eyes for a moment but then knew that we had to go on with our lives. One of me turned around and found himself at a dark metro station, walked down the stairs and caught a train to destination unread. The other one of me watched the other disappear, turned around and found himself somewhere entirely different – in a green meadow, in the golden sheen of slanted sunbeams. I knew then that I’d also gone to a different time. I could no longer see my twin, even though I knew that he now was walking up the stairs in the London house where a woman was about to open the door for him, kiss him and pull him in. Behind that door, I knew, was a cozy apartment, but also danger lurking in the form of a black shadow of someone. My other self by now had become airborne quite naturally and was floating away over the meadow, was about to cross a willow-lined creek and would then rise some more to overcome the wooded hills in the background.

– Niebla ( © 2008 )

Written for Sunday Scribblings #102 / smorgasbord (“Who else I might have been”) and Totally Optional Prompts (“Get surreal”).

About niebla

I wish to remain clear of details. My words shall lift the veil.
This entry was posted in Imagination, Life, Literature, Love, Mystery, Surrealism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who else I might have been

  1. whypaisley says:

    wow so then one self floated off to safety while the other had to face the lurking black shadow… i wonder how they decided who got to do the floating….. very creative….

  2. typingaway says:

    This was nicely done –

    Thanks for sharing,
    UL
    http://ul-typingaway.blogspot.com/

  3. sweettalkingguy says:

    Hi, I’m fascinated with this sense of ‘other self’ perhaps it is our real (eternal) self and the physical self is just a temporary thing.

  4. greyscaleterritory says:

    Love how you have interpreted the surreal as a split form of reality!

    As there is an alter ego, so there is an alter reality!

    Great!

Leave a comment